Cork hit 3 goals in 17-point win over Limerick to set up McGrath Cup final against Clare

September 21, 2021 0 By HearthstoneYarns

Cork 3-15
Limerick 0-7

Denis Hurley reports from Rathkeale

TWO GOALS EARLY in the second half were decisive in helping Cork to ease past Limerick in today’s McGrath Cup semi-final at Rathkeale.

Ian Maguire bagged Cork’s third goal this afternoon.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The holders led by 1-6 to 0-6 at half-time, Brian Hurley with a first-half goal for them, and the opening minutes after the resumption brought a pair of green flags, debutant Paul Walsh and captain Ian Maguire both netting.

While Limerick might have had a goal of their own in response immediately after that as Kieran Daly fashioned a chance, good Conor Dennehy defending denied him and Cork’s passage to the final against Clare was never in danger of being obstructed.

Ronan McCarthy’s side had ten scorers in all, with just one point from a dead ball. That came from Brian Hurley and in the first half a goal and a point from him had helped to open up a 1-3 to 0-1 lead by the 14th minute.

Click Here: new zealand rugby team jerseys

However, the fine free-taking of Limerick’s Seán McSweeney kept the home side in touch and a long-range effort from him just before half-time ensured that there were just three points in it at the break.

They were never given a chance to eat further into the deficit though, with Cork building on the goals with a flurry of points as subs Tadhg Corkery, James Fitzpatrick and Eoghan McSweeney were on target and Damien Gore added his second.

Sean McSweeney takes a late free for Limerick.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Brian Hurley 1-3 (0-1 free), Ian Maguire 1-2, Paul Walsh 1-1, Ruairí Deane, Damien Gore 0-2 each, Tadhg Corkery, Kevin Crowley, James Fitzpatrick, Eoghan McSweeney, James Loughrey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Seán McSweeney 0-5 (frees), Tommy Griffin, Kieran Daly 0-1 each.


1. Mark White (Clonakilty)

2. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarr’s)
3. James Loughrey (Mallow)
19. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

5. Kevin Crowley (Milstreet)
4. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
7. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
9. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)

10. Tom Clancy (Fermoy)
12. Seán White (Clonakilty)
24. Matthew Taylor (Mallow)

13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
11. Ruairí Deane (Bantry Blues)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)


20. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra) for Crowley (20, injured)
23. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree) for Seán White (half-time, injured)
18. Aidan Browne (Newmarket) for Loughrey (45)
21. James Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers) for O’Hanlon (53)
17. Peter Murphy (Bandon) for Flahive (54)


1. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Michael Donovan (Galbally)
3. Seán O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
4. Paul Maher (Adare)

5. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)
6. Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
7. Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh)

8. Darragh Treacy (St Kieran’s)
22. Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins)

10. Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins)
11. Seán McSweeney (St Kieran’s)
12. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh/Castlemahon)

13. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
14. Adam Kearns (St Senan’s)
24. Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh)


25. Davy Lyons (Adare) for Daly (44)
19. Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins) for Pallasgreen (44)
15. Stephen Keeley (Adare) for Fitzgibbon (50)
26. Jamie Lee (Newcastle West) for Liston (61)
20. Luke Murphy (Monaleen) for Maher (61)

Referee: Derek O’Mahoney (Tipperary)


Clare 1-17
Waterford 1-6

CORK’S VICTORY ENSURED it will be a repeat of last year’s McGrath Cup final after earlier Clare enjoyed a successful trip to take on Waterford in their semi-final tie.

In a game played at the Gold Coast in Ballinacourty, Colm Collins saw his team run out 11-point winners and they will now take on Cork for the third time in four seasons in a McGrath Cup decider.

Clare laid the foundations early for this victory as they hit eight unanswered points –  Dermot Coughlan and Gary Brennan both notched a brace apiece – and then Conal O hAineféin’s goal essentially killed off the game. Waterford did rally but still trailed 1-8 to 0-2 at the interval.

The second half saw Clare remain in the ascendancy and a late Jason Curry goal for Waterford could not alter the picture to prevent the Banner from advancing.

Clare are Into the McGrath Cup Final besting Waterford 1-17 to 1-6.

— Clare FM (@ClareFM) January 6, 2019

Source: Clare FM/Twitter

*An earlier version of this article stated Cork had won by 16 points, that should have read 17 points.

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here: